The word that comes to my mind is overwhelming

Thank you Bryanna Maxey, IHM Parishioner and McNick Student, for sharing your reflection on your 2015 trip to CCBN!

DSC_0121.JPG

“If people were to ask me how was my trip, I would respond with complete honesty. My response would be that this trip to Nicaragua was hard for me. Don’t get me wrong it was one of the best times I have ever had in my life, but it was extremely difficult for me to see that vast poverty of the country. The word that comes to my mind is overwhelming. How is it possible for people to live like this? It breaks my heart to see anyone living the way that most people are in Nicaragua. However, my heart breaks even more for the children living in the poor conditions. These children are not getting the proper nourishment or education and it makes me realize how blessed I truly am. My bedroom alone is bigger than some people’s entire home. The poverty was just very hard for me to see. It’s not like it was only in one part of a city, but it was everywhere you look. I just want to be able to help these people even if it is something very small. This trip definitely opened my eyes not only about how I am currently living my life, but most importantly, how I want to live my life in the future. This trip helped me to fully recognize how much I love to serve others. Even though I am still not sure what I want to do with the rest of my life, this experience has shown me opportunities I didn’t even know existed. This trip made me realize that the rest of the world is much different than the bubble the U.S. is in. This just makes me want to be able to go anywhere I can in the world to help the people who need it most. I want to be able to leave this earth and say that I made it a better place in some way than before I got here. I don’t expect to save the lives of hundreds of people, but if I can truly help at least one person on this earth, I would call it a successful life. This trip makes me want to go on more like it and maybe even potentially go on a 2 year service trip. I definitely have a lot to think about regarding my future. No matter what, I want to choose a career that is centered around helping and serving others. It doesn’t matter if I own nothing, if I can serve others and meet these amazing people my life would be amazing. I don’t even necessarily have to do something globally. There are people in my own community who suffer greatly. One small action or project could surprise me and become something much greater that will not only benefit me, but will benefit the people who need help and want a better life. Yes, this trip was difficult, but it was eyeopening and I can’t wait to see what the future holds because this past week will definitely factor into the decisions I make.”

 

Leave a Reply

