Photo of the day: Spider or Scorpion?

On my long walk across the street this morning to the Center, I was quite shocked and surprised to see this little lady hanging out in on the steps into the building. As terrified of spiders and generally all things with large pinchers sticking out of their faces, I was fascinated by the size of what my coworkers and I thought was a spider! Upon further research however, I discovered that our friend here is a Tailless Whip Scorpion, from the Arachnid family and venom-less. They are not harmful to humans, but I still don’t think I could handle her in the house, even if she does eat cockroaches!

-Erika C.

Leave a Reply

