Concierto Navideño

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*Photos by Joe Connelly and Virgilio Medina

Last night CCBN had its’ final activity of the year: the annual Christmas concert. The concert involved the adult and children’s choir as well as the orchestra, theater and dance groups here at the CCBN. While listening to the concert I heard various people in the audience sing out loud to traditional Nicaragua songs they had grown up hearing and singing during Christmas. I hadn’t heard many of these songs before, besides the past month that I’ve had the privilege of listening to the groups practicing nearly every evening (oh the joys of having the Center in our front yard)

Many of the songs were written by Nicaraguans during the time of the revolution and sing of a Christmas full of freedom, justice and peace. Although I didn’t find myself singing along to the songs, I did enjoy the spanish version of “Silent Night” known as “Noche Buena” It brought me to memories of back home, sitting with my family in our annual Christmas Eve church service which always ends in singing this song by candlelight. Even though I’ll be missing out on the Christmas traditions I’ve come to know for the past 22 years, I feel rejuvenated by the energy that comes from learning new songs and traditions that are meaningful in this community and this country.

I wish you all a Merry Christmas and I hope that wherever you are you can have a day of joy and peace with people you love.

Abrazos,

Kelsey

 

From the words of Carlos Mejia Godoy,

“Feliz Navidad, Feliz Navidad en justicia y libertad;

Feliz Navidad, un mundo mejor sin miseria ni opresion.”

“Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas in justice and freedom;

Merry Christmas, a better world without misery or oppression.”

 

Leave a Reply

